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Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

FBI-LEEDA Supervisor Leadership Institute (SLI) 

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, please contact the 

program director.  Registration form is only for food and lodging. Class registration is handled via link above.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

November 7th, 2022 to  

November 11th, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

28 contact hours /// 4 ½ days 

 

COST: 

Registration Fee –     $695.00 

DOES NOT include lodging and meals 

Lodging and meals – $288.00 

Paid separately to the WSPA 

 
*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.* 

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

14 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

FBI LEEDA Supervisory 

Leadership Institute 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. James Sawyer 

James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov 

608-366-3304 

 

Registration Deadline: 

October 24th, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

The Supervisor Leadership Institute (SLI) is part one of the three-step leadership 
series that makes up the FBI-LEEDA Trilogy.  While targeting to first-line supervisors, 
the SLI course is suitable for all police leaders – sworn and civilian. SLI students will 
be engaged in such topics as credibility, discipline, liability, and leadership styles. 
They will complete a DISC leadership assessment. 
 
FBI-LEEDA instructors are current or former command-level law enforcement 
leaders who have not only extensive leadership experience, but a passion for 
teaching. 
 
The following topics are covered in the Supervisor Leadership Institute: 
 

• Defining leadership, generational effects of leadership, leadership as a 
lifestyle, leadership traits 

• Building credibility, organizational credibility 
• Four pillars of discipline, immunity, supervisor liability 
• Participants will complete a DISC assessment of their personal leadership 

style 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

Registration is required through the FBI LEEDA website at:  

 

https://fbileeda.org/events/EventDetails.aspx?id=1582591&group= 

 

• Sworn and professional law enforcement staff are welcome to all FBI-LEEDA 

classes.  You do not have to be a member to attend a class. 

• Each student must register for classes under their own Username and 

Account. 

• There are no educational prerequisites for this course; FBI LEEDA Trilogy 

courses can be taken in any order. 

• A workbook will be provided; laptop is optional. 

• Dress is business casual. 

 

Food and lodging are available at an additional fee paid directly to the Wisconsin 

State Patrol Academy:    

$288.00 for the week per person –  

• Lodging Sunday night through Friday night -- $30 per night/person.    

• Meals $138/person—5 breakfast, 5 lunches and 4 dinners 
 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov
https://fbileeda.org/events/EventDetails.aspx?id=1582591&group=


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB Instructor Development Course (CJ-IDC) 

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

March 28th, 2022 to  

March 31st, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

32 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $135.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $325.00 

Includes tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

24 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. James Sawyer 

James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov 

608-366-3304 

 

Registration Deadline: 

March 14th, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

 

This course prepares Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board (LESB) 

certified officers to effectively administer and teach LESB approved curricula.  

This course emphasizes teaching and learning techniques that promote active 

learning, support learners with a variety of learning preferences and needs, 

and generate continuous improvements in teaching and learning. 

 

This course is a pre-requisite for admission to a topic-specific instructor 

course.   

 

ASSESSMENT AND EVALUATION: 

 
To successfully complete the CJ-IDC course, instructor candidates must:  

• Present one teaching assignment to the class 

• Pass a written/achievement examination with a grade of 80% or 

higher 

• Demonstrate proficiency in adult learning and teaching techniques 

taught throughout the course  

PREREQUISITES: 

 

Registration limited to: Law enforcement applicants who have acquired a 
minimum of 2 ½ years of full-time or at least 5,000 hours of certified 
occupational experience as a law enforcement or tribal law enforcement 
officer and have attained an associate degree or a minimum of 60-accredited 
semester credits or 90-accredited quarter credits. 
 
Applicants must submit form DJ-LE-335, the 32-hour Criminal Justice 
Instructor Development Course Application (paper form available on 
WILENET), to the training provider along with a copy of their Acadis Training 
History Report to verify occupational experience to enroll in the CJIDC, as 
well as form DJ-LE-310, Student Release of Information (paper form available 
on WILENET).  
 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB DAAT INSTRUCTOR  

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

December 1st, 2022 to  

December 16th, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

96 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 490.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $1055.00 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

14 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Charlotte Gyllin 
Charlotteh.gyllin@dot.wi.gov 

608-387-0051 

 

Registration Deadline: 

November 17th, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

This 96+ hour course, taught by a Master Instructor Trainer, 

prepares instructor candidates for certification as a LESB DAAT 

instructor. 

• Identify the expectations of the DAAT instructor training 

program. 

• Describe the components of the DAAT curriculum packet 

(orientation to course materials). 

• Review decision‐making and legal issues surrounding use of 

force decisions. 

• Prepare the DAAT instructor candidate teaching assignments. 

• Describe safety procedures for classroom and the DAAT room. 

• Demonstrate how to teach DAAT techniques and correct 

student errors. 

• Present a teaching presentation. 

• Complete DAAT Instructor Program (exam, evaluations, and 

application process). 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

Must have completed the 32-hour CJ-IDC course before attending, 
OR be a currently-certified LESB instructor, and have 3 years full-
time experience. To attend, must apply via form DJ-LE-336 
(include completed DAAT Skills Competency Checklist). 
 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:Charlotteh.gyllin@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR  

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

August 18, 2022 to  

August 26, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

56 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 405.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $730.00 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

15 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Brian LaValley 
brian.lavalley@dot.wi.gov 

608-387-5815 

 

Registration Deadline: 

August 13, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

This is a train-the-trainer program is designed to certify instructor 

candidates as DOJ-Wisconsin Training and Standard Handgun & 

Rifle Instructors. The program follows LESB training guidelines and 

involves hands-on, classroom presentations and on-line 

prerequisites to be successfully completed by the instructor 

candidates. Although this training program is designed for recruit 

level firearms training; it will allow the candidates to establish and 

conduct a departmental firearms training program utilizing LESB 

materials. Candidates will receive training in the proper methods 

of firearms instruction through utilization of the shooter/coach 

method, as well as range operations, course of fire development 

and correcting problem shooters. 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

DOJ LESB Instructor Development Course. Instructor Training 

Course Application (DJ-LE-336) must be completed and signed off 

by the applicant and the applicant's employer (agency 

administrator). The application will need to be returned to the 

Academy at the start of the course to include any required 

attachments such as the Handgun and Rifle Skills Competency 

Checklists. 

ITEMS TO BRING: 

 

• Duty weapons, holster and related gear 

• 500 rounds of handgun ammunition  

• 500 rounds of rifle ammunition  

• Eye and ear protection 

• Sunscreen and other protective wear 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:brian.lavalley@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB PROFESSIONAL COMMUNICATIONS INSTRUCTOR  

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

November 14, 2022 to  

November 16, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

24 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 120.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $260.00 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

20 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Brian LaValley 
brian.lavalley@dot.wi.gov 

608-387-5815 

 

Registration Deadline: 

November 1, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

The overall course goal is to provide instructor candidates (you) 

with the skills, abilities and techniques required to deliver 

effective PCS training.  Instructor candidates will accomplish this 

by meeting the following learning objectives: 

• Learn the roles and responsibilities of administrators and 

instructors in conducting a PCS basic course. 

• Identify Law Enforcement Standards Board (LESB) 

certification requirements for instructors. 

• Identify the components of the PCS basic course. 

• Review the PCS curriculum package and updates to the 

training materials. 

• Present one instructor course teaching assignment. 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

You must complete the following requirements to receive a PCS 

instructor course completion certificate: 

 

• Successfully complete the pre-test session. 

• Attend and participate in all class sessions. 

• Successfully present a practice teaching assignment. 

• Score at least 80% on the final instructor course written 

exam. 

• Complete the instructor application paperwork to be 

submitted for LESB certification. 
 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:brian.lavalley@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB SCENARIO INSTRUCTOR  

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

June 16- 17, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

14 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 90.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $180.00 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

20 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Charlotte Gyllin 

Charlotteh.Gyllin@dot.wi.gov 

608-387-0051 

 

Registration Deadline: 

June 2, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

This 14 hour training is required for personnel conducting scenario 

training and testing, including personnel who are eligible to serve 

in the role of Safety Coordinators and Exercise Control Officers.  

This training must be completed before an individual can serve in 

one of these roles.  A scenario Instructor is required in other 

tactical instruction when using simulated or actual use of force 

tools/ techniques as described below, when conducting:   

• In-class drills, exercises, and experiences 

• End-of-phase Integration Exercises 

• End-of Academy scenario training and scenario testing 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

1. Complete Criminal Justice Instructor Development Course 
(CJ-IDC) within the last 2 years 

2. Complete attached form, Instructor Training 
Course Application DJ-LE-336 

• State Patrol employees should bring the 
form completed and it will be signed at the Academy.  

• Personnel from outside of the DSP need to have 
the form signed by an administrator from their 
agency and submit a copy to the Academy in advance 
of admission to the course  

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:Charlotteh.Gyllin@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB SFST Instructor 

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

September 15th, 2022 to 

September 16th, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

16 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 100.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $190.00 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIUM ENROLLMENT: 

20 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Allan Platt 
Allan.Platt@dot.wi.gov 

608-366-3306 Ext. 8006 

 

Registration Deadline: 

September 1st, 2022  

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

• Prepares law enforcement professionals to effectively administer and teach the Operating a Motor 

Vehicle While Intoxicated OMVWI)/Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) training program.  

Emphasizes teaching and learning techniques that promote active learning, support learners with 

a variety of learning preferences and needs, and generate continuous improvement in teaching 

and learning. 

 

• The first part of this course will focus on basic principles and techniques of teaching OMVWI/SFST, 

and on the specific application of those principles and techniques to the curriculum employed for 

classroom training in SFSTs. During this day the student-instructors become able to:  

• Describe the documents that make up the standard curriculum packages for OMVWI/SFST; 

• Describe the content and format of the lesson plans for OMVWI/SFST;      

• Describe the characteristics of a good OMVWI/SFST instructor; 

• Carry out the instructor preparation tasks for any session of the OMVWI/SFST course; 

• Describe how to plan and manage an alcohol workshop; 

• Administer the use of NHTSA approved video tapes for optional SFST training. 

• During the second part of the course, the student-instructor will have opportunities to apply what 

they have learned by teaching selected portions of the OMVWI/SFST course. The instructor 

candidates will be told their practice teaching assignments on the first day of the course, and they 

will have time in class on the first day to begin preparing for the assignments. 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

• Satisfactorily completed either the 32-hour Wisconsin Criminal Justice Instructor Development 

Course (CJIDC) or the Teaching Methods Course put on by the Wisconsin Technical College 

System; 

• Satisfactorily completed SFST training, based on the NHTSA SFST curriculum or its equivalent; 

• Participated in two "live" volunteer drinking subject practice sessions (alcohol workshops) 

during which they personally administered the horizontal gaze nystagmus, walk and turn, and 

one-leg-stand test to persons who have consumed alcohol; or 

• Participated in one "live" volunteer drinking subject practice session (alcohol workshop) during 

which they personally administered the horizontal gaze nystagmus, walk and turn, and one-leg-

stand test to persons who have consumed alcohol, and participated in 

one NHTSA approved video-taped session of drinking subjects; or 

• Participated in two NHTSA approved video-taped sessions of drinking subjects; and 

• Demonstrated continued proficiency with the SFSTs, either in actual enforcement operations 

or in alcohol workshops, or both, since the completion of their training. 

• Complete attached form, Instructor Training Course Application DJ-LE-336 

• Personnel from outside of the DSP need to have the form signed by an administrator from their 

agency and submit a copy to the Academy in advance of admission to the course.  

• NOTE: Anyone enrolling in this course is expected to know SFST skills prior to attending the 

course. This is an instructor course. A practical and written pre-test will be administered at 

the start of the course. If you do not pass these tests you will not be allowed to continue in 

the course. 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:Allan.Platt@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB TACTICAL RESPONSE INSTRUCTOR  

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

August 8, 2022 to  

August 11, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

32 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 175.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $365.00 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

14 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Brian LaValley 
brian.lavalley@dot.wi.gov 

608-387-5815 

 

Registration Deadline: 

July 22, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

• Identify instructor responsibilities. 

• Describe the components of the Tactical Response curriculum. 

• Review decision-making and legal issues surrounding use of 

force decisions.  

• Review tactics for everyday patrol including foot pursuits, small 

unit tactics, and perimeters; teaching and correcting student 

errors. 

• Review active shooter response concepts and principles; 

teaching and correcting student errors. 

• Present teaching assignments. 

• Complete the Tactical Response Instructor course (exam, 

evaluation, review application process) 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

Must have completed the 32-hour CJ-IDC course before attending, 

OR be a currently-certified LESB instructor, and have 3 years full-

time experience. Bring completed form DJ-LE-336 to training. 

 

ITEMS TO BRING: 

• Tactical or duty gear with holster 

• Eye and ear protection 

• Sunscreen and other protective wear 

 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:brian.lavalley@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

LESB VEHICLE CONTACTS INSTRUCTOR 

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

December 5th, 2022 to  

December 6th, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

16 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 95.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $185.00 

Includes tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

20 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. James Sawyer 

James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov 

608-366-3304 

 

Registration Deadline: 

November 21st, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

This course prepares Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board (LESB) certified officers to 

effectively administer and teach the vehicle contacts training program.  This course 

emphasizes teaching and learning techniques that promote active learning, support learners 

with a variety of learning preferences and needs, and generate continuous improvements in 

teaching and learning.  

 

The goal of this program is to prepare certified officers who are proficient in making vehicle 

contacts to deliver the LESB-approved vehicle contact curriculum.  
 

OBJECTIVES: 

• Identify instructor responsibilities 

• Describe the components of the basic vehicle contacts curriculum packet 

(orientation to course materials). 

• Prepare the vehicle contacts instructor candidate teaching assignment. 

• Describe how to run a driving range during a Vehicle Contacts Course. 

• Describe safety procedures for using weapons (simulated/mock weapons or real 

weapons) during vehicle contacts training. 

• Review how to teach an approach, non-approach, and high-risk vehicle contact and 

how to correct student errors. 

• Present your teaching assignment. 

• Critique the Vehicle Contacts Instructor Course.  

 

PREREQUISITES: 

• Completed Criminal Justice Instructor Development Course (CJ-IDC) 

• Complete attached form, Instructor Training Course Application DJ-LE-336 
o State Patrol employees should bring the form completed and it will be 

signed at the Academy.  
o Personnel from outside of the DSP need to have the form signed by an 

administrator from their agency and submit a copy to the Academy in 
advance of admission to the course. 

Directions to Instructor Candidates: 

• This is an instructor course. Anyone attending the instructor course is expected to 
know the below skills prior to attending the course. You will be tested at the 
beginning of the course. If you do not pass these skills you will not be allowed to 
continue in the course. 

o Take the written pre-test to assess your knowledge of the basic vehicle 
contacts skills.  You must pass with a minimum score of 80% to be admitted 
into the vehicle contacts instructor course. 

o Perform basic vehicle contacts skills on a driving range to assess your 
knowledge of the basic vehicle contacts skills.  

o If you do not pass the practical pre-test to the satisfaction of the MIT you 
will not be admitted into the vehicle contacts instructor course. You will be 
critiqued on the following basic skills on the driving range:  Approach 
Contact, Non-approach Contact, High-risk Contact   

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

PEER SUPPORT-BASIC 

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

May 16th, 2022 to  

May 17th, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm Daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

16 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 165.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $255.00 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIUM ENROLLMENT: 

45 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Brian LaValley 

Brian.LaValley@dot.wi.gov 

608-387-5815 

 

Registration Deadline: 

May 2nd, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

 

Kristen Herreid and Felicia Labatore have teamed up to teach Peer 

Support to First Responders throughout Wisconsin, including DOJ, 

State Patrol, DNR, and several city and county agencies.   

 

Today, more than ever, First Responders need to be operating at 

their best on a personal and professional level.  How do we get 

our departments to be as healthy as possible?  One of the answers 

is by having members trained in Peer Support.  When your 

department is operating at its best, your officers are taking care of 

each other and are better able to serve the citizens.   

 

Trained members will know signs to watch for and understand 

how to handle situations in the following areas, anger issues, 

depression, alcohol and drug problems, marital concerns, post-

traumatic stress symptoms and suicidal ideation.  The training 

sessions consists of two days of intense learning.  Ongoing 

consultation is available when the course is complete. 

 

 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

None.  
 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:Brian.LaValley@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

PIT (Pursuit Intervention Technique)  

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

August 30th, September 14th, 

September 28th, May 24th 

 

TIME: 

10:00am to 2:30pm 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

4 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 85.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   N/A 

Includes Tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIUM ENROLLMENT: 

12 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. Allan Platt 
Allan.Platt@dot.wi.gov 

608-366-3306 Ext. 8006 

 

Registration Deadline: 

Two weeks before  

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

• This training will provide law enforcement officers with the 

knowledge and skills necessary to successfully perform the 

Pursuit Intervention Technique (PIT).   

 

• Students will receive classroom and practical hands-on training 

in the proper execution of the Pursuit Intervention Technique 

including conducting the PIT maneuver at various speeds. 

PREREQUISITES: 

 

None.  
 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:Allan.Platt@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Wisconsin State Patrol Academy  

TECHNICAL CRASH INVESTIGATION 

 

Registration and Contact Information: 

Completed registration forms should be sent to the registrar.  If you have any questions, 

please contact the program director.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

DATES: 

August 1st, 2022 to 

August 5th, 2022 

 

TIME: 

8:00am to 4:30pm daily 

 

PROGRAM LENGTH:  

40 hours 

 

COST: 

Commuter Cost – $ 200.00 

Includes tuition and noon meals  

Resident Cost –   $435.00 

Includes tuition, meals, and lodging  

 

*Additional nights lodging and meals can be 

obtained upon request.*  

 

MAXIMUM ENROLLMENT: 

20 

 

INSTRUCTOR/VENDOR: 

Wisconsin State Patrol 

Academy 

 

PROGRAM CONTACT: 

Sgt. James Sawyer 

James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov 

608-366-3304 

 

Registration Deadline: 

July 18th, 2022 

TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION INCLUDE: 

 

The goal of this course is to expand the knowledge of basic crash 

investigation and to introduce and help understand the concepts of Technical 

Crash Investigation.  This course will assist officers and investigators better 

understand crash investigation and assist them in next step in crash 

investigation courses, which would be Advanced Crash Investigation (Vehicle 

Dynamics).  This course will focus on the following concepts: 

• Hand Measurements / Scale Diagramming (pre-requisite for Forensic 
Mapping) 

• Residual Crash Evidence (Vehicle, Roadway, and Environment) 

• Interviewing drivers, passengers, and witnesses 

• Human Factors 

• Evidence Collection Overview 

• Forensic Lamp Examinations 
• Intro to Vehicle Dynamics 

ITEMS TO BRING: 

• Scientific Calculator 

• Clipboard 

• Pencils 

• Steel / Cloth measuring tape 

 

PREREQUISITES: 

Law Enforcement Certification 

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov?subject=[REGISTRATION]%20
mailto:James.sawyer@dot.wi.gov


Program Enrollment Form  Wisconsin State Patrol Academy 
  95 S. 10th Avenue 
  Fort McCoy, WI 54656 

 
Information collected on this form is used for the purpose of registering and maintaining student-training records for those students enrolled in 

training programs sponsored by the Wisconsin State Patrol Academy. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. If you have any questions regarding the registration procedure, billing or program requirements please contact 

the Academy Registrar at: (608-366-3307) 

  Registration Procedure 

 
By Email:  Complete this form electronically and return this application to: 

             registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov 
 

 
Enrollment  

Legal Name (Last, First, Middle Initial) Program Title 

Agency Title (Rank)  Program Date(s) 

Area Code - Telephone Number Sex 

                                    Male                           Female 

 
Department/Agency Information 

 
Emergency Information 

Bill to Person Name & Email Emergency Contact 

Employing Agency Relationship 

Department Street Address Emergency Area Code-Telephone 

City, State and Zip Code Department Area Code-Telephone 

 
Dormitory rooms are assigned by the Academy. If you require special accommodations for your stay at the Academy, please contact 

the Academy Facility Coordinator. 

Arrival Date Departure Date  
       
      Lodging & Meals Needed 

 
    No Room Needed  

– Lunch Only, 
Commuting Daily 

 
I have reviewed and agree to the cancellation procedures as outlined in the Wisconsin State Patrol Academy Training Catalog and 

understand cancellation of a program reservation may result in a charge to my department.  

 

 
 

(Department Authorizing Person Signature)         (Date)           (Applicant Signature)         (Date) 

 

 

(Authorizing Person Name and Rank—Print) 

  

  

mailto:registrar.statepatrol@dot.wi.gov

